The Fyodor Dostoevsky Museum was opened on May 7, 1971. The foundation of the museum was a one-and-a-half-story wooden house built in 1898.
In total, Fyodor Dostoevsky spent more than 5 years in Semey: from March 1854 to July 1859. During this time, he went from a private to an officer, and at the same time he met a woman who became his wife.
Over the 50 years of its existence, the museum has accumulated a rich fund, more than 25,000 items of storage. The museum’s collection contains a unique document – Dostoevsky’s autograph, rare lifetime editions of the works of the writer and his contemporaries, a large collection of autographed books, and extensive memoir literature.